Marionette

c5f83e154bc90fac7ef5f61fb32dbffd

(Published in Winamop magazine, 2016)

Twisted fibrous strings
command frivolous play
at jointed limbs.
We dance and are jigged –
woefully rigged
when each jarring movement
is in turn deliberately
fraught with venomous tugs –
Each jolt brings attempted revolt,
but the puppeteer snarls –
our lifelines become gnarled,
entangled in his bitter torture.
Unravelling his capture he spins
and mocks until we are unmeshed
in shock – ’til we don’t know if we are
coming or going.
Wooden shoes clatter,
when smaller figures, who don’t matter,
play to an audience
and bleed
into the pockets of the puppeteer’s
greed.
Swift but doleful we have become,
dancing to the puppeteer’s hum.
Lifeless, hung out,
no route of escape.
We dance and we clip clop
a charade
man made, pulled
and lulled along
by a succession of tyrants
who just want
to see us wriggle
and squirm like
the moth eaten marionette –
always ruled –
once unfurled.

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

10 thoughts on “Marionette”

  1. Thank you so much for contacting me at The Writing Garden Anita! I’d be very pleased to publish this wonderful poem if that’s okay with you?

    Apologies for taking so incredibly long to get back to you. It’s taken me some time to get through the list of submissions, combined with finding poetry myself – I like to do both. The next issue will be any time between 16th – 20th March. If you can’t get back to me to confirm before then, I can always include it in the issue later or publish it in the following issue.
    Look forward to hearing from you!
    -Suzy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s great, thank you Anita!! The next issue should be complete any time between 16th – 20th March. I’ll get back to you here after it’s published. Thanks again for contacting me, it will be pleasure to share your beautiful writing! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

