Shelter from the Storms (of Love)

 

e57847dba9fa52ef4dd1be8df606f0e4

Should my mourning sky
not include you in it,
should your heavy sighs
not be for me and intimate,
it would be like the rain
inside its smoking haze of tears.
Should you not be there on wilder days
lending strong arms and shoulders
to shield me from my cloudy fears,
the leather would be so cold
and the chill air of night, bold.
Love, she scolds and yearns
because the bed is empty still,
despite I lay with hope
whilst here without you.

Her raging torrents beat me down,
and savage waves engulf
such as I am. At its meekest,
the crest of each tumult still carries me
as I witness a softening of her fiery face,
all of anguish and sad torment.
Night time brings lamenting grace
and equal cooling of her fervent wish.
I have embraced all storms in varied
measure, and this night which is nought but calm.
I am battle hardened but not weary,
and I will rest just enough to brace
myself for when love comes again –
bring on the storm.

Evaporated, she ran and hid,
I am a worthy opponent –
not even a slender emergence
of guise or flimsy skirt from which to beguile
and lavish on me the timid blows
she threatened to wreak.
All have subsided and been blown
off course. The storm, once afeared,
was ne’er more than
a consumption of air, the very air
I breathe and devour with such voracity –
and she cannot bare it;
hair swirling in distaste,
the uneasy swallow of bitter aftertaste,
that is me, and in my grief, I am the storm –
beware the calm.

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

10 thoughts on “Shelter from the Storms (of Love)”

Leave a Reply

