Journeys iii: Heavenly Lake

imagesnakcqxgg

I hope my journey will be as far
as the day is long,
propelled by my desire to sit
beside the mountain one last time,
cross legged in breathless sighs
to rest like the mist on the shoulder
of this giant, and later, when I sleep,
all dreams and sad memories
that accompanied me on this trail
will be companion to my tears held within it.
There I will await the sudden majesty of sunset,
and see dwelling therein all heartache
until morning so that I can sleep soundly
and unburdened; temporarily
unfastened from my days
as they draw to an end, to wake refreshed
for the long road ahead.
Navigating this golden gateway
between heaven and earth will be filled with
trepidation but with a heart so much lighter –
deftly held by the sunrise,
rich in artistry, resplendent in colour
to soothe my aching bones –
it will be something to revisit,
or perhaps just gaze at from
the cradle of the mist.
My breath is captured stillness,
its last composition unravels
in the jade brushwork of reeds,
stroked to fine perfection and inked
just right; it is my penned farewell to
the Tianchi Lake where I now meander
in spirit.

(i) West window
(ii) Journey

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

2 thoughts on “Journeys iii: Heavenly Lake”

Leave a Reply

