Cease Fire (Cinqain)

Nigella damascene – Nigella, Love-in-a-Mist, Devil in the Bush, Persian Jewels

Seeds strewn –
love in the mist
or devil in the bush –
Nigella, star of Damascus.
Hope blooms?

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

8 thoughts on “Cease Fire (Cinqain)”

  1. I’ve read many white papers on Nigella Sativa – black cumin – which is a powerful, centuries old, healing property from the middle east. So I took the ‘Nigella, star of Damascus’ line both visually in representation of form and metaphorically in representation of healing. Nice Anita!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha, I have some waiting to go out at my lounge window and play with succulents, love those, so this could be my new big hobby. My mam had green thumbs and I didn’t pay attention, but I seem to be managing. hat I love too is using my plastic stuff from food as propagators…and bags, which makes me feel better, even making my own biodegradable pots for my seedlings /egg boxes, newspapers/egg shells etc which is less fiddly for me to plant.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Certainly you can’t go wrong with such hobbies as they produce life and flourish the essence of beauty. My mother could revive plants from near death (I didn’t pay attention either and thought it hereditary).

        This made me want to save my plastics for you, it is the thought that counts 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

