Blame the Weather

The tree that refused to believe it was winter

I can give you a reason
for all kinds of treason,
I can fake with a smile and blame
all of the seasons –
you’d always believe me
time after time –
’cause you’re always the
reason, you see.

I can cry like a spoilt child,
use excuses not reason,
smother you with happiness
depending on season,
I could shoot you a line or two
just ’cause I can –
you’re always the
reason, you see.

let’s kill
such a horrible truce,
let’s have no more abuse
we’re
just two of a kind

our love
would take care of itself,
it wouldn’t wonder what else
it could
possibly lose

It’s a cold smell, an empty smell,
like something uneven,
It will strangle then free you
till you heave then you grieve,
I could save you or watch you choke,
maybe I will,
you’re always
the reason, you see.

in death,
time would probably still
all that’s left of my will,
and there’d
be no reason for us.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

13 thoughts on “Blame the Weather”

    1. That’s interesting. What is wispy? I was trying to get a certain rhythm, maybe the rest suffered, but it was a punt about broken relationship(s).

      Alo I ws about to psot you a link in the light of typewriters V keyboards today….This is my happy compromise -http://www.qwerkywriter.com/ there is a good you tube vid too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

