Jazz (Quadrille)

11007491-Saxophone-on-a-wooden-bench-in-autumn-Stock-Photo-saxophone-musicPicture: Benjamin Haas

44 words. Quadrille #15 Leaves.  Other entries here.

spine tingling tunes
work me up and down like
shivers – my hands dance;
each one like trembling jazz’s
autumnal leaves vibrating from my core –
connected nerves trace the crisp, white leaves
of a music book’s inky black saxophones
giving clarity to my
strumming fingertips.

2nd draft – more autumnal

Seasonal tingling tunes
work me up and down like
shivers – my hands dance;
each one trembling like autumn’s
jazzed leaves vibrating from shed trees –
connected nerves trace the crisp leaves
of a music book’s inky black saxophones
giving clarity to summer’s numbing,
strumming, fingertips.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

43 thoughts on “Jazz (Quadrille)”

      1. No, I think you read it properly. You included the required word and the poem was 44 words. Those were the only requirements. Where the muse takes the poet from there is okay, and in this case quite wonderful.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved that you made music with autumn and leaves! This is a lovely and creative response to the prompt. If I had to choose my favourite it would be the second. Thanks for joining in at dVerse!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like them both, such forward rhythm….but I think I like the second one best. Either way, I’ve never written a quadrille, but they seem to be a great form. Your words, descriptive and haunting.

    Jane

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

