Strange Arms

tree twisting

Picture source:  Strange…tree.  Thanks Paul Militaru.

wrap me in strange arms
not sinew’s calm unity of muscle to bone
but like before when molten flesh
was writhing, malleable, lasting –
not like now with intangible flame
shot from an archer’s crossbow –
with quick precision

writhe with me in twisting turns
not rolling ambiguity’s speech of tongues
but like before when deception unraveled
to suffocate me with a slithering hiss –
do not place your wreath
in the space where the cobra stabs –
with quick precision

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

6 thoughts on “Strange Arms”

  1. Got back to WordPress yesterday after a break and caught up with a number of your poems in one go which made me realize the consistent sharpness of expression. That you embrace the political in this age of utter distraction makes the verse all the more grounded.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really appreciate the attention you gave to my writes. The situation today makes me angry be it for those without voice and conservation and those with vices but might as well have none, and direct inhumanity I can’t keep it in. Wish I could do more but writing is start. I am lucky to seem to be prolific enough but for you to compliment that is rewarding. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

