Dare to Wander

dark_night_in_old_town_by_intao.png

What is it that drives you
deep inside?
To wander those crazy streets,
where light stops shining and walkways
seem so hard, so narrow.
Let me show you where the light falls.
Let me be most of who you are
inside those chasms that shrink
from reach and touch.
Let me find where I think
you are hidden – deep and alone,
somewhere forbidden –
almost hesitant to face a day.
Where are you now with arms folded
and tired inside?
Still walking with no limits in mind,
or stop signs along your empty roads
or shelter from frosted fields?
You’re too cold and proud
to find a place to sit, too angry
to find a corner to nestle.
Let me show you the nearest
resting place,
let me take the weight of so far away,
and find a way through those bricked
up walls you bang your head against.
Don’t wander alone through sprawling
notions and cobwebs.
Let me be there with you for just a moment,
introvert and quiet, free from eyes
and prying assumptions.
Let me find you somewhere inside,
somewhere near not deep and hidden,
and nowhere forbidden.
Don’t hide away…with me there. Let me.

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

9 thoughts on “Dare to Wander”

  1. Anita, this poem is very moving. your imagery is so crisp, I feel like I know that wonderer. You have a very beautiful soul and a great talent for painting word masterpieces. Thank you so much for writing such beautiful poems. Light and Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great imagery throughout and the first part of the streets is great.
    This piece was complex and layered, so many great aspects.
    Let me be most of who you are – some line! And the lines of the searching person looking to get in to someones space, to be recognised, loved? are great.
    You painted a picture with this one Anita ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

