Cold Cadence

Cadence_minor_second

I wrote a song for you,
a false lullaby.
I had words for you,
lies to make you cry.
I sang a song for you
yet you never asked why –
suffering the unending
beating
of an unruly and cruelly chorded
rhythm,
all the while keeping in time
with the vicious verse;
less than lyrical,
more than venom,
poised in its hanging frame.
Suspended,
out on a stray note
like your senses –
mesmerised by a cobra’s
stabbing hiss
playing on yours ears
so naturally amiss,
and out of sync
with the whole chorus of this –
not unlike your love song
in which nothing
much happened at all
despite its promises
and overtures –
but you sang it to a fool
whose heart swayed
to a beat,
and whose hope was raised up
from her feet.
It was a savage song,
a mood song,
an inspirational song –
and so I became
inspired.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

2 thoughts on “Cold Cadence”

  1. Such depth! You always go deep, and get into a poem or story.
    My favourite thing about this was the switch from the music/love metaphor at the beginning to when it became personal around the mid section. Some great rhyming sections, really smooth, and music seems the perfect comparison to love. Great writing ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

