ConservAction

This is another contribution I made to the Dodo Express. (Action Against Man-Made Extinction). Please go over and show your support to the work they are doing. Get involved wherever you can …those without a voice need us.

By Anita M Kulkarni Nabonne
wwf_leopard_0

Wherever the need is on this globe, vast battles are being fought every hour of every day.  Monumental challenges are being met and victories gained to overcome the dereliction of our care and duty to the many species we temporarily are privileged to enjoy, and to the only home we have.  We ill treat them both, and just like the garbage that is slowly defining our seas – it is coming to back to haunt us.

More and more states in the U.S. will follow suit enforcing a Styrofoam ban.  It is estimated that before long there will be more plastic than fish in our waters.

We have at our disposal some fantastic and often beleaguered organisations to help guide us; Greenpeace, WWF, Friends of the Earth to name only 3. We have sanctuaries and nature reserves and fights for animal welfare and their rights…

View original post 891 more words

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

2 thoughts on “ConservAction”

  1. I commented over at Dodo, but I want to make sure I offer my thoughts here as well! I love this article. I am so fed up trying to tell friends and family to stop needlessly throwing away plastic after one use. Obviously, the plastic needs to be tossed eventually, but it is usually sturdy enough to be washed and re-used dozens of times. I’ve cut down on purchasing Ziploc bags because I can re-use them for months on end, not only helping the oceans but saving me money!

    Plastic use is something that we can ALL modify. Educating people on the imperiled parts of our earth is difficult because it isn’t in “our backyard” necessarily. If we don’t see it first-hand then it must not be happening! It’s baloney, but I think that’s the way most humans think. Articles like this are so important to raise awareness. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree hence my passion and I am only too happy that it (or I) can be of use in future. I have recycled forever and find use for things that don’t quite make it yet. I am disappointed with people today, we have become so lazy, so literally throwaway and today is has seeped into another generation, this is the worrying thing. and the next is not far off becoming our next set of adults…scary. They need education about this just like a curriculum has sport ed or home economics, it needs to be that drastic…all the things that are happening as a consequence of us. Short sighted comes to mind always…that is when we bother to look. But thank you for taking the time, and again, anytime just ask. I am always trying to add to my category. Glad it was useful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

