Give Me a Peace

Calling all poets who would like to share their words as a vital voice in our efforts to build on Peace. The world is not being heard, we have to shout louder, and keep asking for peace…until they hear us. Please see Michael’s original post and reblog.  Watch for the kick off date this Saturday (16th) if you would like to participate – long, short, loud quiet, we need voices.  Thank you!

The Poetry Channel


I want to live in a world
without mushroom clouds,
drive-by shootings,
and tear-gassed crowds.
Without ethnic cleansing,
or military coups,
Blacks versus Whites,
warring Arabs and Jews.
Give me a world
without nuclear missiles
where there are no rapes,
or indifferent dismissals.
With Protectors and Leaders
who do as they are charged,
seeking justice, and safety,
for the world at large.
I dream, for everyone,
a planet without walls.
Healing hands to hold
when one of us falls.
Where education is the answer,
rather than a cage with bars,
and we value all life
more than flatscreens and cars.
Give me a world of one spirit,
if not of one people,
and faith not confined
to stained glass and steeple.
A world without hatred, apathy,
and fear,
a place where kindness is valued,
air is fresh, and water clear.
Give me a world,
in this time, in this…

View original post 269 more words

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

6 thoughts on “Give Me a Peace”

  1. Me too,my friend. This must be read by more people. I believe an old Native American wisdom said. “One strong heart can put their feet into the water. Move their feet in the river and pray for concern, kindness and peace. One movement of hope can create a hurricane of hope. Even if one person at a time.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

