Things

7c1e671c93a0da13040c68a02c1b49a3

I love the little things
that make my life complete.
Sometimes they can be such small things,
but they’re never
insignificant
or fleeting.
They are those little things,
intangible abstract things –
bits and bobs,
strange things,
Paraphernalia.
Some go unnoticed, but
most things, they are there.
Things like
the lines on your face
when they light up your eyes
– you shine them on me.
Things like
when I can hear my breathing
in your thoughts rolling in and out
of your chest.
Things like
the ebb and flow of
crimson sheets, laced with smooth
movements –
those animated things.
Things like
when you touch me,
and always do what you do for me
until it takes my breath away –
those intimate things.
Even things that are not my thing
become a thing, if you do them for me.
Spiders, I hate those things
but you come, armed with impedimenta
to rescue me,
so now they are my friend,
and become the kind of things
I can lie about.
I love when the bedclothes fall
and you pull them over my cold feet –
it’s just a little thing,
part of the minutiae of things
done without thinking, or
without the blink of an eye,
with a simple flick of the wrist
you always think of me –
it makes it a thing I love.
And it is who I love,
and all those little things –
aspects of you and who you are
that makes me
kick the covers off my feet
and wait,
knowing you will come
and do some more things.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

2 thoughts on “Things”

Leave a Reply

