Live Life Like You Mean It…or

whale

Move it

Walk tall as if your head
is in the clouds, and damn
the fools who frown
on daydreams.
Dreams are the titans
of our darkness –
floating, colourful and intangible –
air castles inside our
own fantasia,
running amok among the cotton
fields up there around our ears –
ear muffs that might help defend
us against the brutality
of this world.
Visualise your goals, and set
the titans free in a race of all time.

Play it

Life bursts its door wide open
and our curiosity should be piqued.
My brows are creased –
my curiosity is furiously
furrowed as I become enthralled,
entranced
and grasping – always grasping –
but, I don’t feel
any connection.
Instead I am cast adrift
on the waves of the music seeping
through the cracks left to me
once I’d slammed the door shut –
its fluid curves, clarify
and crystallises the purity.
I hear great ideas taking shape
in a string of notes as they are
played out just for us.

Climb it

Walk the boardwalk –
step on the lines you dare
not always tread on – fall down
some holes and let them
take you places.
Climb that imaginary ladder
and reach for the moon
or just for life itself – grasp
the veneer of creativity
and creation – then scrape it away
and discover it for yourself.
Find the oblong in the rings
of those distant spectres –
tantalising baubles hung
out there to seduce us.
Tirelessly climb and make the
connections to be made
inside this island universe.

Sing it.

I want to play like I’m five
years old – sing before my voice
grows old, and I want to sing
a vast song, nothing mediocre.
I want operatic lungs
and a diaphragm built to suck
in the plankton of everyday
and forever. I want to spew through
a blow hole making an ocean
of notes; a sea of song among
the order of cetacea,
and I want to create
a new Atlantis.

Lose it

I’m going to be passionately
impractical and intensely
unsound – I want to make it rain
again, I want to make it pour –
I’ll wear bright pink
Wellington’s – stop the traffic
as I listen for a dinosaur’s roar.
I want to chase some dragons when
they fly towards me through this
green haze.
I’m going to make a difference
one of these days – I’m going to do
something – I’m going to do more
and more.
But for now I prefer to be moonstruck,
and in perfect harmony –
being slightly unbalanced and unhinged,
screwy, touched, deliriously
and expertly
deranged and just that little bit
whacko – perhaps I’ll go bat shit crazy –
who knows what I want to be.
I know I don’t want to be like you.
– all of the time.

Dream it

I’ve got great dreams to live
and things to do
If I concentrate I can feel the waves
of the music again too as it crashes
on those unfeeling hearts and minds.
I can see myself outstretched
basking in the sun
on the shores of disbelief.
I turn over – turning over a new leaf,
and I’m on the moon again and
my tan is done. I rise and slowly
turn to see my footprints in the grey
dust. I climb back down the ladders
and run fast along the boardwalk –
hitting every gap and crack –
The tide is out, the sun has gone down,
and I am glowing.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

12 thoughts on “Live Life Like You Mean It…or”

Leave a Reply

