Samsara

hinduism-atmanbrahman

Since
‘Everything and all existence is connected’,
then we will always be, and so we will always
have you.

Kneeling on the dying repercussions
of an autumn caught just within the colder breath
and tentative icy touches of winter –
its fruition yet to unfurl –
I turn to face the dying winds.
Cradled in my arms, the flakes and fragments
of all that is left.
The tangible weight echoes
the palpable loss I carry –
you have gone from my world,
and left it empty –
inside of this vessel, microcosms of dust
make it as empty as when life
ceases to be – but, inside of here,
you also become extant.
But still
I can hold only that which would not fall
through my fingers, so
I will imagine a springtime that will come
to intrude on
this time just so a butterfly
can perch on my finger –
and linger gingerly, barely awake
but deliberately and I can pretend it is you.
Of course he flies away, so
I will imagine a story
telling me where the butterfly went
and how far it did wander
before it became
once more.
Before you leave
this final solitude to
begin the journey of
your free soul; a soul that is eternal reality,
indestructible and bliss –
you stop to say goodbye;
but only for a short while, so
I imagine a place where your soul is flowing,
where the fragrant petals flutter
until incongruous winds
interrupt and sends them to join
you on your cyclical journey
and my exquisite butterfly will follow –
where the story and you, will continue.

For my father – Dattatraya Vishnu Kulkarni
Always in my thoughts.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

9 thoughts on “Samsara”

Leave a Reply

