The Taste of Honey

honeyII62aaeb914b9e8f3c8ea17f68d3439973

I slowly breathe in and out,
images of you run like honey.
I close my eyes and count to ninety five
so that you might never find me.
I don’t want to smell this air.
My mind still holds your songs
and the memories of swans
on those warmer, blue days
inside this park –
when fervent grass skirts
brushing with our hands
vied for space,
when the birds competed
with the song of errant cars
spewing thumping music
as they passed us by in the distance,
and I can’t feel my lips.
I am sinking into this plush ground
once again, but further than before
as the sun beats
on me too, trying to suffocate
me and fry
my existence, fry my wings –
Just like you did –
I hold my breath
in the hope it will all disappear.
Just like you –
I open my eyes and see
the butterflies are still there
perching; peacefully, poised.
Kindred souls,
cracked spirits.

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

Leave a Reply

