Hollow Hopes

sand-1005422_640

My dreams have wandered alone and often barefoot. They have walked where I cannot and dared not tread, till now. Awake and fully aware, I have found my centre, where the sand runs between toes and winds stir it up into a deserved frenzy. I stand in a whirlpool of half full and still half empty, except for the brim, which is overflowing.

So, over the top I go and swim naked till I meet the shores of my furthermost hopes and there I dry and bask in the sun, which has come to warm me before a gentle nudge sends me on a great adventure.

Hair stands on end in the form of slender grass atop the sand dunes, and on their brow, crazy furrowed lines of doubt cascade and come to rest in a smile at the breast of a beast; asleep but knowing. Her heart pounds through her chest sending small tremors to the surface that shift the graceful, golden grains of life beating beneath the falling sky of blue. I look behind and she smiles and presses a wisp of finger to her lips.

I retrace my own footprints and refill empty tread with hope, laughter and eagerness and a strong desire to conquer a time scorched by anger, fear and hurt, cooled all the while by my ever watchful sky of blue.

 

Author: Anita Lubesh

I write poetry/prose/stories/short stories/verses for children/sketch/and have 6 chapters of a novel sitting there like that half eaten trifle in the fridge or bottle of Jack Daniels because something makes you afraid to eat it or drink... right now.. I am a proud Geordie from England's northern hemisphere and the beautiful city of Newcastle upon Tyne. I live with my lovely husband who came all the way from sunny California just for me, and my favourite animal, Bobble, our dog. I am a member of Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth and wish we could all do more, especially today, when such a lot is wrong.

2 thoughts on “Hollow Hopes”

Leave a Reply

